Home
Downloads
Community
Submit
Marketplace

4 pin atx on a 8 pin atx

4 pin atx on a 8 pin atx

Postby slimjohn » Mon May 21, 2018 11:32 am

Hey guys i got a asus p8z77-v lk pc motherboard from a friend but i dont have the 8 pin atx for the cpu power on the power supply only the 4 pin.. Can i still use the 4 pin on the 8 pin?. Thanks in advance
  • 0

User avatar
slimjohn 5
 
Posts: 499
Joined: Tue Aug 02, 2011 12:25 am
Location: Trinidad & Tobago
Custom Title: Shelly Belly..
Reputation: 145

Re: 4 pin atx on a 8 pin atx

Postby Massamo » Mon May 21, 2018 12:44 pm

well you can but the pc will not turn on
  • 0

Consoles List
Spoiler:
Consoles:
Super Nintendo
Sega Mega Drive 2
Nintendo 64
Playstation 2 (Free Mcboot 1TB HDD)
Xbox (ModChip 2TB HDD)
Xbox 360
Playstation 3 (CFW Rebug 4.82.2 600GB USB)
Nintendo Wii (Soft Modded 120GB USB)
Nintendo Wii U (Soft Modded 320GB USB)
Xbox One S
Xbox One X (16TB USB)
Playstation 4 Pro (1TB USB)
Playstation (ModChip)
Nintendo Switch
Sega Dreamcast
Super Nintendo Mini (Soft Modded with USB-HOST mod 32gb USB)

Handheld:
Game Boy
Game Boy Advance
PSP (Soft Modded)
Nintendo DS
Nintendo 2DS XL (Soft Modded)
User avatar
Massamo 6
 
Posts: 675
Joined: Wed Nov 27, 2013 9:15 pm
Reputation: 2204

Re: 4 pin atx on a 8 pin atx

Postby mrpink999 » Mon May 21, 2018 1:06 pm

Your really going to need an 8 pin PSU.( 24pin vs 20pin)

I would not try to "mod" the power supply here, could cause an overload.
  • 0

User avatar
mrpink999 Moderator
 
Posts: 1751
Joined: Thu Jun 26, 2014 1:58 pm
Custom Title: No Worries
Reputation: 24837

Re: 4 pin atx on a 8 pin atx

Postby slimjohn » Mon May 21, 2018 1:48 pm

Ok guys so that means i'll have to buy a power supply with the 8 pin.. thanks for the replies though..
  • 0

User avatar
slimjohn 5
 
Posts: 499
Joined: Tue Aug 02, 2011 12:25 am
Location: Trinidad & Tobago
Custom Title: Shelly Belly..
Reputation: 145

Re: 4 pin atx on a 8 pin atx

Postby shiva2004 » Mon May 21, 2018 6:38 pm

mrpink999 wrote:Your really going to need an 8 pin PSU.( 24pin vs 20pin)

You are confusing the main power supply connector (the one with 20 or 24 pins) with the atx 12v one (4 or 8 pins).

slimjohn, you can put the 4 pin in the 8 pin (it fits in only one position) and try to start the system, 99% of the motherboards runs perfectly fine in this configuration, if it's not enough it will simply not start; the 8 pin connector is intended to give more power to high wattage processors, specially during overclocking, but in most configurations is not really needed.
  • 0

shiva2004 2
 
Posts: 27
Joined: Wed Dec 18, 2013 10:18 pm
Reputation: 70

Re: 4 pin atx on a 8 pin atx

Postby erik1977 » Mon May 21, 2018 7:19 pm

It depends on the CPU you're using in it too. Some will only require the 4pin 12v, while others will need the 8pin. I remember the LGA 775 boards were like this in cases.
  • 20

Systems I currently own:

Spoiler:
Playstation (modchip)
Xbox 360 slim
PS3 slim

Gaming PCs:

Windows 7 64 bit desktop (Athlon II X2 250 3ghz, 2gb ram, Radeon x1650 512mb, 128gb SSD)
Windows XP 32 bit desktop (Athlon XP 2800+ 2.1ghz, Abit NF7-S, 2gb ram, Radeon X800GTO 256mb, 2x 500gb HDD)
Windows 98SE desktop (Slot 1 Pentium 3 550mhz, Asus P3B-F, 320mb ram, Geforce TI4200 128mb, 3DFX Voodoo 2 12mb, 2x 40gb HDD)
Windows 95 desktop (Pentium 133mhz, Asus P/I-P55TP4XE, 40mb ram, Matrox Mystique 4mb, 3DFX Voodoo 2 8mb, 10gb HDD)
DOS 6.22 laptop (486DX2 50mhz, 8mb ram, 350mb HDD)
User avatar
erik1977 7
 
Posts: 1095
Joined: Thu Oct 09, 2014 6:56 pm
Reputation: 4728

Re: 4 pin atx on a 8 pin atx

Postby dreamcast459 » Mon May 21, 2018 9:40 pm

if the mobo requires 8 pins that means its a high end board and it requires the 8 pin without the 8pin it may run but will be damaged
  • 0

sucessfull trade with ware-wolf my youtube channel https://www.youtube.com/user/4599kane/videos
MMO's that i play star trek online and shot online

systems i own
dreamcast
saturn chip modded
N64
sega game gear
orig-xbox
xbox360
User avatar
dreamcast459 13
 
Posts: 3376
Joined: Tue Aug 30, 2011 10:24 am
Location: usa arizona
Reputation: 5230

Re: 4 pin atx on a 8 pin atx

Postby slimjohn » Mon May 21, 2018 11:48 pm

Hey guys sorry for late reply was a lil busy... i tried the 4 pin it comes on then cuts off then power on again with no display i'm using the on board graphics
  • 0

User avatar
slimjohn 5
 
Posts: 499
Joined: Tue Aug 02, 2011 12:25 am
Location: Trinidad & Tobago
Custom Title: Shelly Belly..
Reputation: 145

Re: 4 pin atx on a 8 pin atx

Postby erik1977 » Mon May 21, 2018 11:52 pm

You need the 8 pin then. :D
  • 0

Systems I currently own:

Spoiler:
Playstation (modchip)
Xbox 360 slim
PS3 slim

Gaming PCs:

Windows 7 64 bit desktop (Athlon II X2 250 3ghz, 2gb ram, Radeon x1650 512mb, 128gb SSD)
Windows XP 32 bit desktop (Athlon XP 2800+ 2.1ghz, Abit NF7-S, 2gb ram, Radeon X800GTO 256mb, 2x 500gb HDD)
Windows 98SE desktop (Slot 1 Pentium 3 550mhz, Asus P3B-F, 320mb ram, Geforce TI4200 128mb, 3DFX Voodoo 2 12mb, 2x 40gb HDD)
Windows 95 desktop (Pentium 133mhz, Asus P/I-P55TP4XE, 40mb ram, Matrox Mystique 4mb, 3DFX Voodoo 2 8mb, 10gb HDD)
DOS 6.22 laptop (486DX2 50mhz, 8mb ram, 350mb HDD)
User avatar
erik1977 7
 
Posts: 1095
Joined: Thu Oct 09, 2014 6:56 pm
Reputation: 4728


Return to General Chat



Who is online

Users browsing this forum: fbarraza28 and 24 guests

cron


Home | Legal Notice | DMCA Policy | DMCA File Removal Center | Contact