Home
Downloads
Community
Submit
Marketplace

Question about PSOne and LCD screen

Discuss Everything Related to the PlayStation 1 Here!

Question about PSOne and LCD screen

Postby Adam1987 » Sun Sep 24, 2017 6:56 pm

Hi everyone!

This is my first time making a topic here. Obviously i was lurking around for some time, but now i have an important question which i hadn't found a clear answer yet. I hope someone can help me out.

So i read about the PSOne official LCD screen. I only found NTSC LCD screens so i plan to buy one of those, but i heard that the region of the console and the LCD screen must match.
Is that correct?
What if i have PAL chipped console runnin an NTSC game on the NTSC LCD screen? Will it work? Or my theory is wrong?

Thanks to all who answers my question.
  • 0

User avatar
Adam1987 Newbie
 
Posts: 2
Joined: Tue Jul 11, 2017 12:22 am
Reputation: 0

Re: Question about PSOne and LCD screen

Postby Jonny7810 » Sun Sep 24, 2017 7:16 pm

It will work but you'll have a rolling picture during the PS1 startup logo unless you have an ONECHIP installed.

With a ONECHIP, the PS1 will switch into PAL60 (NTSC)to avoid the extra PAL disc check and you'll have a working picture. (although I'm not sure if color.)
  • 0

My consoles,v20.17:

Crystal 1.4 w/ iND-BIOS 5004,256KB ST TSOP,80GB WD800BB IDE,Phillips DVD-ROM,UnleashX
Xbox v1.0 w/ EvoX M8+ F&G,1MB TSOP,80GB Seagate ST3802110A IDE,Samsung SDG-605B DVD-ROM,XBMC
Xbox v1.4 w/ EvoX M8+,256kB Winbond TSOP,80GB Maxtor DiamondMax 9,Phillips DVD-ROM,UnleashX 0.38
PS2 SCPH-50003
PS2 SCPH-70004b
PS2 SCPH-77007b w/Modbo 4


Computers:
Main rig - Gigabyte GA-MA770-US3,AMD Athlon II X4 Processor 2.6GHz,4GB DDR2,Radeon R7 240 2GB,1TB Samsung HD103SI,H-L DVD drive,Windows 7 Ultimate x64
User avatar
Jonny7810 3
 
Posts: 183
Joined: Sat Aug 24, 2013 3:30 am
Custom Title: Now look at this NET
Reputation: 140

Re: Question about PSOne and LCD screen

Postby Biggsy666 » Sun Sep 24, 2017 8:45 pm

If its chipped would this be of any help?
http://www.theisozone.com/downloads/pla ... ht-v21-us/
Could it boot the PAL game into NTSC for the screen? It would i assume boot on a pal console if it was chipped then you could select the option to boot in NTSC mode for the screen and thus play the PAL game.... Maybe.

EDIT* OK, so i thought it through and i see it maybe like this. You put the above linked disc in your modded psone, turn on and its boots to the option screen ok on your screen because its the ntsc disc. Then you pop in you pal disc and select ntsc to boot the game on your NTSC screen. Makes sense to me but i could be overlooking something.
  • 0

Last edited by Biggsy666 on Sun Sep 24, 2017 9:04 pm, edited 1 time in total.
My Systems
Spoiler:
Acorn Electron
CPC464
C64
ZX Spectrum +2
Atari 2600
NES & Famicom w/ FDS
SNES & Super Famicom
N64 1 x PAL, 1 x NTSC-J
Gamecube x2 Xeno
Wii x2 softmod
Master System
Mega Drive MKI RGB w/switches & MKII
Saturn
Dreamcast
PS1 Audiophile, 3 chipped & 1 slim w/screen
PS2 1 fat silver with FMCB/120gb HDD & 1 slim w/screen
PS3 1 fat, 1 slim
Xbox (soft mod 200gb & 1 Crystal hard mod 120gb)
Xbox 360
PSP x2 CFW
GameGear
Wonderswan
N-Gage & N-Gage QD
Gameboy, GBP, GBC, GBA, GBA SP, 2x GB Macro
Nintendo DS, DSL, DSi & 3DS

My custom Console Projects
User avatar
Biggsy666 9
 
Posts: 2567
Joined: Mon Apr 28, 2014 12:57 pm
Location: Yorkshire, Up North (England)
Reputation: 25432

Re: Question about PSOne and LCD screen

Postby Thelonewolf » Sun Sep 24, 2017 8:51 pm

I have two different systems, PAL and NTSC with both NTSC PSone screens. The boot-up and memory card browser, the picture rolls on the PAL console.
  • 0

Image
Thelonewolf 4
 
Posts: 308
Joined: Mon May 09, 2016 8:49 pm
Reputation: 759

Re: Question about PSOne and LCD screen

Postby raika » Mon Sep 25, 2017 1:22 pm

I have a pal console with ntsc screen. My Pal games don't work on the screen but all my ntsc games work ( my ps1 isn't chipped , I use the swap trick).
  • 0

Disappear here.Image
Spoiler:
Proud owner of :
A modded ( rgb stereo / US/EU) Nintendo NES (europe)
A modded (rgb) PC Engine Duo (japan)
A modded ( 9-pins rgb) pc engine 1
A modded ( US/JP/EU)dreamcast ( japan)
A dreamcast ( europe)
A PC engine GT (jp)
A Modded (US, EU, JP) saturn
A saturn (europe)
A modded Sega megadrive ( US, EU, JP)
A PS one ( europe)
A modded ( 50/60 hertz JP/US/EU) snes
A super famicom
A gamecube ( europe)
A nintendo 64 ( europe)
A gameboy Advanced ( europe)
User avatar
raika 4
 
Posts: 292
Joined: Sun Jul 24, 2011 8:12 pm
Location: Somewhere in France
Custom Title: Buy R4 on DC
Reputation: 295

Re: Question about PSOne and LCD screen

Postby Adam1987 » Mon Sep 25, 2017 8:48 pm

Thank you for all the asnwers, and many thanks to you raika to have the ultimate answer :)
I guess i can safely buy an NTSC screen then.

Thanks again for everyone!
  • 0

User avatar
Adam1987 Newbie
 
Posts: 2
Joined: Tue Jul 11, 2017 12:22 am
Reputation: 0


Return to PSX Chat



Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 6 guests

cron


Home | Legal Notice | DMCA Policy | DMCA File Removal Center | Contact