Home
Downloads
Community
Submit
Marketplace

XBox RAM upgrade question

System Mods, Hard Mods and Soft Mods - Discuss them here.

XBox RAM upgrade question

Postby squattingmutt » Sun Jul 22, 2018 6:55 pm

I have a 1.6 MB that I'm considering cannabalizing the memory off of to use on my softmodded 1.1 MB. Does anybody know if they used the same / compatible RAM between these 2 versions?
  • 10

Spoiler:
Systems I own:

PS1 with Gameshark softmod
PS2 Phat FMCB and 120 GB
PS3 Slim Overflow 4.82 CFW
PS Vita stock OFW
PSP-1000 CFW
Xbox Softmod and TSOP, 160 GB
Xbox 360 with Whisper fan, 160 GB
Xbox One stock
Hacked Wii
DS Lite with SD cart
User avatar
squattingmutt 3
 
Posts: 78
Joined: Mon Jun 27, 2016 11:39 am
Reputation: 130

Re: XBox RAM upgrade question

Postby AdmiralShlong » Sun Jul 22, 2018 7:36 pm

Can't run a RAM upgrade off a softmod for starters. Not all unofficial bios support it either.

Also, No. The 1.6 chips have F firmware, the 1.0,1.1, Chihiros, and debugs use M firmware.

The firmware code is the last digit before -QC50.
  • 0

My best performance Box
Spoiler:
320GB ST3320620A 7200RPM 16MB Cache
X-DU Alpha 512KB ModChip & Toggle Switch
Gelid GC-Extreme Thermal Compound
StarTech 80 Conductor U-ATA Cable
80mm Xilence Hydro Bearing
Taiyo Yuden Clock Cap
XBMC Build 3.5.3 Dash
128MB DDR RAM
K=1.00.4817.01
TSOP=X2 4983
iND-BiOS 5004
1.0 board


Systems
Spoiler:
Dimension 4400:
CPU 2GHz 512KB cache 400MHz FSB
2GB DDR RAM
Dell Dimension 4700:
CPU 2.8GHz 1MB cache 800MHz FSB
4GB DDR RAM
360:
Corona V5
500GB Seagate Momentus HDD
Gelid GC-E Compound
HDD Door Vents
40mm Noctua FLX SSO2 PSU fan
PS2:
FAT
60mm Sunon Maglev Bearing Fan
User avatar
AdmiralShlong 3
 
Posts: 81
Joined: Tue Aug 16, 2016 3:31 am
Location: CA, USA
Custom Title: Mainboard Manipulator
Reputation: 262

Re: XBox RAM upgrade question

Postby ZX81v2 » Sun Jul 22, 2018 8:45 pm

The only advantage of adding memory to a xbox is for emulation purposes only.
No game will make any use of the extra RAM as it's not needed by the original hardware.
  • 0

User avatar
ZX81v2 13
 
Posts: 8709
Joined: Sat Feb 04, 2012 6:02 pm
Location: Ladies and Gentlemen, We Are Floating in Space
Custom Title: R Tape Loading Err0r
Reputation: 59066

Re: XBox RAM upgrade question

Postby ricardo1984 » Sun Jul 22, 2018 8:59 pm

First before the ram installation you need to flash the tsop or (modchip) of the xbox with a 128mb compatible bios like IND BIOS or XECUTER,for the rams you can use 1.6 rams on a 1.0-1.5 you can mix them as long as they are samsung QC-50 (1.6 hynix ram wont work for this).

Optional you can flash the tsop or modchip ->before<- you install the rams with the XBLAST OS bios this way you can test each one by one to ensure that they work. :lovetiz:
  • 40

xbox v1.0 with Tsop flashed Xecuter 5035 bios 128mb ram
xbox v1.0 with Tsop flashed IND-Bios 5004 beta 128mb ram
xbox v1.4 with Tsop Winbond flashed IND-Bios 5004 beta 128mb ram
1 xbox ver.1.6 softmoded with krayzie ndure1.1.1
1 n64 stock
1 Ps2 with freemcboot
1 xbox360 xenon with flash, 12v 2fans, big Xclamps
amd ati apu laptop
User avatar
ricardo1984 4
 
Posts: 302
Joined: Sat Dec 21, 2013 6:01 pm
Location: puerto rico
Custom Title: xboxmodder
Reputation: 796


Return to System Modding



Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 11 guests



Home | Legal Notice | DMCA Policy | DMCA File Removal Center | Contact